Technology – Sports – Music – Mobile – Gadgets – Sun – Fun

Four Legal Ways You Can Stay on Verizons Unlimited Data Plan


This is How You Can Stay on Verizon‘s Unlimited Data Plan

By: Corey Geier

How to Still Get Verizons Unlimited Data at GmaNsWorlD.com

How to Still Get Verizons Unlimited Data at GmaNsWorlD.com

So do you want to keep your Verizon unlimited data plan?  If you are one of the lucky people out there that has a account with Verizon that includes the unlimited data plan, then I am sure you are like me and are looking to do whatever you can to not get rid of it!  I have personally tried these options and they do work!  Now rumors are always spreading, and how its going away, or you will not be able to renew.  Currently no matter what anybody else says, you still have ways to keep your Verizon unlimited data plan.  I bet a bunch of you have upgrades available on Verizon ever since the cutoff date when unlimited data was no longer available.  I can remember all my friends flocking to the stores to get there last deal in, and everybody getting the “Charge” since it was one of the first “4G” smartphones on the market.  So now if you sign up for a new two year plan with a subsidized phone you will lose the unlimited data option, so instead you are stuck buying your new or used phones outright in order to keep your unlimited data.

I have been doing some research online along with speaking to some of the local phone reps in the area and I have verified that there are ways for people with unlimited data that would like to get a new phone for the discounted rate. With my research, there are many places out in the internet that lists ways to keep your unlimited plan, and I am going to summarize them for you.   Many new phones are going to be hitting the market soon and over the holidays so now is the time to start to prepare.  With some of the new phones that are going to be released like Apples two iPhone 5c & 5s, Blackberry’s High powered  Z30, and Samsung’s Screaming Fast S5 models launching, it might be a good time to lay it out for everybody.

NOTE:  It would be best if you would not go to a Verizon Corporate Store, as they might have more strict rules on upgrades and policy’s, so it would be best to seek out a third party like Best Buy, TargetWalmart  or some of the local chains in order to guarantee you get it done right.

Not including the first option, but all the rest you are going to have to use Verizon’s Family Plans or AKA Buddy Plan upgrades, I have read that this loophole is possible. Essentially all you need is a line on your account that DOES have unlimited data and you’re set! There are four scenarios you could be in if you still have unlimited data.

Option 1

This is the easiest and most used option, and this would be to purchase yourself a new phone and face value, sometimes costing well over $500.  But this insures you do not have to sign a new contract, so you will be able to keep your current plan with the unlimited data.  (this option would also work by purchasing a used phone that is sold to you legally unlocked, and not tied to a current plan.)

Option 2

You are the only person on your account

Verizon High Speed Internet

Verizon (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

In this scenario, you are the sole person on your account and you have unlimited data. The only way you can get by it is to add a line to your account. If you have unlimited, then you are on the old nationwide plans and you can add a line for $10 a month (You will have to change your plan to a family plan which may cost more depending on how many minutes you currently pay for). The way to make it the cheapest is to get a basic phone (It doesn’t even have to work). All you have to do is upgrade that line you just added to the phone you want. When its done, activate the old basic phone and the new phone you just added to your account becomes a phone you own. Then just activate that new phone on your line. It is the same concept as buying a phone on craigslist. Then you’re done. You have a second line thats only costing you $10 a month. When you upgrade in the future, you can donate the upgrade on your line to that new line and repeat the process. You will get an extra upgrade and keep your unlimited until Verizon finds a way to block it.

Option 3

You are on a family plan and everyone on that account has unlimited data

In this scenario, you have two options. You can either add another line for $10 a month and repeat the same process as listed above (Which I recommend because then everyone keeps their unlimited) or you can pick one of the lines that doesn’t need unlimited and donate your upgrade to that line. That line will lose unlimited, but once you pull the new phone off and put theirs back on, you can activate the new one on your line and you can keep using your unlimited. From then on out, simply give the upgrades on the lines that have unlimited to the one line that now doesn’t. Upgrade to the phone you want, and swap the devices.

Option 4

You are on a family plan and someone on the account doesn’t have unlimited data

The final scenario is the easiest to perform and also the one that I have used throughout the last few years, when I had the upgrade option available on other phones in my Family Plan.  This also doesn’t cost any extra to you. Donate your upgrade to that line (s)  without unlimited data, and once it is activated put the old phone back on that line. Then take the new phone and activate it under your line and enjoy your unlimited data.

I hope this can help at least a few people out there. I wanted to let everybody know that I could so with the few free options or one of the $10 extra a month options, it is hard to beat considering you get two upgrades for yourself now and you get to keep your unlimited data. Please share with us in the comments below any of your stories you had trying to keep your unlimited plan.

7 responses

  1. I was on an unlimited data plan with my friend, so i once decided to separate my unlimited Line, and have my own account… So me and my friend went to a Verizon store to do the process to move my unlimited data line off of his account, they tried to cut my unlimited data at a Verizon store, they said, transferring my existing Line would make me lose my unlimited data, So I called Verizon and they did it whitout cutting my unlimited data… Always try calling Verizon instead of going to one of the stores

    October 27, 2014 at 5:17 pm

  2. Tamie Matney

    I do trust all the ideas you’ve offered to your post. They are really convincing and can definitely work. Still, the posts are too quick for novices. May just you please extend them a little from next time?

    Thank you for the post.

    September 30, 2014 at 5:16 am

  3. Tom

    Thanks for creating this page! My wife and I have 2 iphone 4 phones that are unlimited data and we share our minutes. We wanted to add our son to the plan so I spoke with a verizon rep. He told me that I could add him for $10.00 a month extra and have unlimited data with that phone. I was shocked so I found a used smart phone (wish I had it when I talked to the first rep). When I called back to add the phone of course they would not do it. Is there any way to get my son on our unlimited data by adding a third line? In other words can I just add him with a cheap non smart phone and then swap out the number at a later time? Just nervous on losing the unlimited data.

    May 13, 2014 at 4:43 pm

  4. tonh

    I have 2 phones with unlimited data a phone without and a basic phone on my account… and want to get the new s5 coming out and its going to be buy one get one free how do I do it to keep the 2 phones with unlimited data from losing it thanks

    April 8, 2014 at 6:14 pm

    • First use the phone without unlimited data. So that will get you into the account. after that switch it top one of the phones with unlimited data. You can try to get the other free phone to replace one of the unlimited data phones, but if they will not let that work, then you might have to start a new line. Then you can switch it to the other unlimited data phone.

      April 20, 2014 at 8:52 am

  5. Harrison

    Thanks for boiling everything down to the lowest common denominator. It looks like the simplest, cleanest, only option is #1.
    By paying “retail” for the new phone, can Verizon still eliminate my “unlimited data plan” because my original two year contract is technically expired? Any thoughts would be appreciated. H.L.

    December 5, 2013 at 4:58 pm

    • Harrison, I just purchased the Blackberry Z30 at regular price and you get to keep your unlimited. The Verizon reps will even walk you through the purchase to make sure you do not lose your unlimited plan, they are very helpful. Goodluck!

      December 5, 2013 at 8:04 pm

Leave a Reply

